“You better cut that pizza four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six” (Blog 11)

Our Trip:

When we went on our field trip to Metro, we passed by many different food places. The store itself was filled with a variety of different delicious food choices. I got a little hungry. Then again, I’m always generally hungry. Fortunately, I have the ability to fill my hunger at any point of the day, any day.

Our field trip gave me a comparative perspective of food insecurity, which I did not fully understand prior to. Food insecurity is a really big problem, and it is not an easy one to solve.

Luckily, on our trip, Metro had a storewide sale, which allowed us to select nutritious meals for five dollars. If a person has to go through this every week, they are not granted with storewide sales everyday.

The menu of a family facing food insecurity is not very lavish. Carbs are the cheapest source of food they can survive on. Spaghetti, bread, and rice were a sufficient meal that could arise from the five dollars. These wheat products will not provide a family with the nutrition they are lacking.

This brings me to the topic of food banks. Even though our guests clearly stated they do not support them, I feel that they cannot quite judge them. Both are lucky enough to maintain a stable lifestyle financially, which leaves them no struggle with food insecurity. Although, for people who do not have the ability to purchase fresh, nutritious meals on a daily basis, a food bank provides them with plenty of nutritional value.

Food banks have fresh deliveries every day of non-perishable items, as well as fresh produce and meat, as we saw in the presentation. If you’re living off five dollars a day, there is no way you could have fresh produce and meat to give to your family. Rather than living off pasta, a food bank can fill up a person with a larger variety of food.

My Meals:

How far do you travel to get your food?

I try to grocery shop relatively close to my residence. Without a car, it is hard to carry large amounts of groceries from the supermarket, back to my room.

How much do you spend?

Honestly, I try my hardest to purchase things on sale and avoid buying expensive items, although there will be times where I have to pay for a food item.

Drink?

I drink a lot of water, although I really like juice. Water has good deals, and juice isn’t too expensive.

Who makes your food?

My parents.

What happens when you are hungry?

I eat.

How can you afford the food you purchase?

My parents both have jobs, so our income allows us to buy groceries whenever we need them. To save money, we try to price match and go to select stores to catch their sales and awesome deals.

Leave a Reply

