Concerts: The World In One Venue (SP 2)

Concerts: The World In One Venue

I apologize in advance for the length of this explanation but, I could not fit my description in 100 words.

I love concerts. I attend as many concerts as I possibly can. It isn’t strictly the actual concert that brings joy to my life, but all the people you meet and adventures you go through before and after a concert.
The only issue with concerts: their prices. Being an avid purchaser of concert tickets, I have had to use a variety of sources to attain tickets (not any illegal ones if I may add). Sometimes, I am able to get fantastic deals, but other times I’ve had to pay some unreasonable prices. Purchasing tickets got me thinking once; predetermined seating is quite unfair. Compared to general admission concerts, area venues are very socially differentiating. The higher income an individual attains, the better seats they can have, I thought. Well, the high-class wouldn’t necessarily buy the most expensive tickets, but they had a greater variety of seating areas to choose from rather than the struggling low-income families. How unfair, right? It was only at the Coldplay concert that I realized something more important.
On their Mylo Xyloto tour, the band decided to use “xylobands” to make sure everyone was actively included in their concert experience.These “xylobands” were computer activated and controlled wristbands which lite up during the time of the show(see picture).
It was absolutely incredible. When the song “Charlie Brown” came on, the entire venue was pitch black. On the first note, all the wristbands lit up creating the most beautiful sight in the world. Not going to lie, I had tears in my eyes.
In that moment, everyone, no matter what social class, race, ethnicity, gender, age, was equal. The venue didn’t look split anymore. It looked like a sky full of magical glowing lights. When the wristbands lit up- to quote Stephan Chbosky-“we were infinite” (Chbosky, 39).

That’s the amazing thing about concerts, I thought. The short moments before the artist comes out on stage, to the last note of the closing song, everyone is equal. We experience the same emotions, sing the same songs, and see the same things. Yeah, there is a divide of social class because of ticket pricing and seating, but in the end the people who are far away aren’t lesser of fans or music lovers as those in front.

I took this picture because I wanted to capture the element of amazement that was overriding my emotions at the time. My favourite band was bringing together 30,000 people together with the touch of a mouse. The only thing isolated in the picture is the stage (the yellow-lighted runway, and the red cross).

Work Cited

Chbosky, Stephan. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. [S.l.]: Simon & Schuster, 2012. Print.

Leave a Reply

